Why intern?


Okay.
What is the point of having an internship?
This is something I would base my assignment on (if I had the chance..)
because I would be able to give my professor the best answer.
However, I need to be more specific than that when writing my paper.
So, I decided to talk about it here.
I mean, after all, it's my blog so here we go!
I believe the main question is:
how do you get experience without any experience?
I have a friend who often asks me:
"how would I get an internship without a previous internship" and
"how do I get a job without a relevant internship to back me up"
Well, anyone looking for an internship or job today
has more resources than ever before.
I am talking about social media sites such as
linkedin, facebook and twitter.
You just have to get out there. Be creative.
Create contacts, tweet back to companies
you would love to work at and follow their tumblr accounts.
Believe it or not but many companies actually tweet back!


However, the bad news is that the competition is tough.
Actually, I don't think you can graduate college in this day and age without
some relevant internships listed in your resume.
My year of internship(s) has come to and end but
if I could, I would do it all over again in a heartbeat!
Yes, it has been a whirlwind at times and working unpaid for
an entire year is something many people believe is insane.
But I tell you one thing:
the people I have met, the places I have been and the things I have learned
make it all worthwhile.


I mean, hey..I have even learned some Spanish.












Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0