Do you need to be a bitch when it comes to career?


So as I heard someone say today at work; if you stay in LA long enough you become slow, laid back they said being more specific, and if you live in New York you easily become cold. I don't know if I necessarily agree with this statement but what I do know from working in PR and watching reality shows such as the City on MTV is that as further people get on the career ladder, the colder they seem to get. This brings me to question whether you have to be a bitch when it comes to career. I mean, is this necessary in a world in which you will be facing competition, people who are trying to walk over you and boss you around. When you look at people who are high up in their position you will face many raised eyebrows and short "thank you"'s without any "have a nice weekend"'s. If questioned, I am sure they would not even have noticed it themselves as they are too busy and have too many emails to answer. I have to admit that a couple of weeks ago, my friend at work came up to me and said that she thought I bossed her around. Even if this only happened once, I was shocked and questioned her or myself as a matter of fact, wondering if this even could be possible. I never boss people around, I thought. What for me seemed to be "handling work fast and getting everything done in order" reflected something that was not me. So this is how I would answer my question; always treat people the same way as you would want to be treated by them! And of course there is no need to be a bitch. There are other ways to get ahead than with a bad attitude! Whether you are in the industry of journalism, PR, finance or marketing who you want to be outside work is the personality you should carry in the office.


Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0