Is there such thing as the search for a hectic lifestyle?

 

The other day on my way back from school, about to enter a roundabout almost as hectic as my own life seemed to be on that Friday afternoon, I took up an Elle magazine from my bag, waited patiently to cross the road. I took a deep breath and found that reading something else rather than law, politics and economic books was a relief for the moment. As I started to flip through the pages of the magazine an article with the headline “Is the stigma of therapy shrinking” caught my attention. Therapy or as the magazine outlined: LA therapy. The UK based magazine wrote about the subject in such an angle that it seemed “cool” and “hip”, hiding factors such as stress and anxiety in between glamorous sentences; “In the states therapy is as much a national emblem as the skinny decaff latte with extra whip”, “therapy seems to be the norm of successful, intelligent women trying to improve their lives” followed by “it doesn’t get much more LA than this, all you need is a shrink” Even though I was tired from a week of revising, this article woke me up! And I started thinking… when did therapy become a trend? And do some people today actually search for a hectic lifestyle, in which therapy is just a balanced factor in the equation? Of course people should do what makes them happy and if therapy will contribute to your personal wellbeing, then why not…but to encourage a lifestyle leading up to the need for therapy is just wrong! I looked up from the magazine and thought: is it trendy to be busy and stressed with work? Is that what makes us feel important? I did not want to believe that but in a world in which we feel ashamed and embarrassed if hanging out on the couch, watching movies a whole weekend as we rather want to fill our calendar with work, cocktail parties, activities ..and work in order to keep ourselves busy, it is no wonder people consider therapy. However, my suggestion is to allow yourself a break and go for a run or just a walk along the beach and appreciate what you have achieved as that could just be the best type of therapy.

 

 


Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0