A visionary dream





Isn't it fascinating how people become? I mean, how we find ourselves on different roads, managing different professions and skills, becoming great at different things and discover our weaknesses and developing our strenghts. As of May 31, 2009, the Earth's population was estimated by the United States Census Bureaus to be 6,783,421,727. That is a lot! and out of all of those people, you will find yourself on your very special road with your goals and dreams. Maybe you are fighting for human rights? just arrived with your suitcase to New York with big city dreams? sleeping on a midnight train on your backpacking trip across Europe? Studying to become a doctor or on one of your auditions of becoming an actress/actor?  If you don't have a specific goal you'll probably have some kind of vision; an idea about the future and a stongly felt wish. Maybe a picture in your head of what you want to be, live and have achieved within, let's say, ten years. Right now, I find myself in a rainy but summery Sweden with a candle, just in the first weeks of my summer break from college. I find myself studying public relations at Bournemouth's media school, still working hard to become a writer but trying to find another way into the competative profession. I think I have had the same goal in ten years now, picturing myself writing in a big apartment with white curtains overlooking a park or in a house by the ocean, also with the same white curtains and big bed. I still have that vision, that image in my head of what I want to be in a few years time but I am developing. I mean, I know that I want to write and you probably know that you want to become an actor, receiving the applauds from a big audience for example . But here comes the question; what do I want to write about and why do you think you will become a good actor? No one will hire me, not knowing my direction or voice. The same with the person fighting on that audition. What does he have that no one else does? What makes him stand out from the crowd? This question made me think about my journey back home to Sweden over the easter break and how I was talking to a friend about my dreams of helping people through writing about career, motivation and goals. He told me "Charlotte, you can't just expect people to listen to you, you need to accomplish something first"  Even though I had a couple of drinks before I remember myself thinking very hard about what he just said. I needed to come up with an answer as I knew he had a point; why would people listen to me and why would they think my words would make a difference? "There are so many people in the world who want their voice to get heard" he continued. Okay, so I want to help people, write about career, motivation and goals but I need to do something before that, work with something I don't want to work with just for the sake of it? Would I have to become a retired 65 year old CEO before I could do what I really want? No! There needs to be another way! I need to fight to reach my dream through what I really burn for and so I hope you will. You might be questioning yourself; so, what will make my work special?  You don't need an answer right now but sooner or later you will find the answer somewhere along your road and that day when you are standing there on that big stage, in the limelight, infront of that camera, you will be able to take a look over your shoulders, looking back on those big changes, decisions, experiences and brave steps you took which made your performance special and outstanding!

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0