A Cinderella Story






Today I came to think about what makes a person pretty. We all know it is a cliche' to say beauty is inner beauty, but we also know it is the truth. In the fairy tale, Cinderella goes unnoticed until her appearance is magically transformed to match little girls' ideal of beauty and loveliness, which they grow up believing is the true beauty, the beauty boys will fall for. Though, when they are grown up they will understand that it is not Cinderellas big dress, her glass slippers or  blonde hair that will make the prince (notice: in the real world!) fall for her, it is her personality we get to know during the whole movie. I mean, aren't we more beautiful in our jogging clothes or by the fire when we are out camping with less make-up without any concernes about how we look? Just with that sweatshirt and sweatpants having a good time? Without those high-heel shoes and that push-up bra? Don't we love the barefoot Cinderella just how she is, how she sings to the animals and dreams away looking out through the window? Satisfied with the dress the mice made for her. And I cant help of wonder; do the pretty girls, want the guys who want them for their good look? For that Christian Dior coat? I don't know if this makes any sense, but hopefully you understand what I mean. In the fairy tale, the princess kiss the frog and hope he will be the prince right? Little girls still do, in hope that this little frog don't have to be the prince on the surface, to be the prince.

This whole pretty-is-not-always-the-look thing made me think about this in particular night out in New York. In general, the whole club atmosphere, contacts and that VIP is ridiculously shallow - I am totally aware of that! You are not allowed in without the right contacts, the right outfit or pretty face. Sadly, this is just how it is, and I got even more mad this one time when a promoter told me that the friend of my friend was not allowed to stay. According to her, she was just not good looking enough. Excuse me? At first, I thought miss understood her, but then I understood that she was actually serious.

At the end, won't this desperate need of looking good strip away some of our inner selves?  

Kommentarer
Postat av: Mini

Kan inte komma hjärtat:(

2009-01-01 @ 20:44:41
URL: http://www.carolinelundh.se

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0