What is ladylike really like?






After googling the word lady I found 8 different steps. 1. Learn to talk well, 2. Dress well, 3. Make sure your hair is nice, 4. Be graceful, 5. Make sure your belongings are neat, 6. Always be nice and generous, 7. concentrate in school, 8. Don't be a class clown


By the age of 22 I should agree with Britney Spears early song "I am not a girl, not yet a woman" but before I can do so, I need to question the in between; what do we find between being a girl and being a woman? After giving it some thought I came up with the term "young lady", as I can't describe myself as a lady not really yet. When people are referring to me as a lady I get suprised, wondering "what, am I really a lady?" "No...I can't be yet, can I?". I am the kind of girl who loves my pink and white lace dresses. watching sex and the city marathons, having slumber-parties, painting my nails while talking about boys together with my friends past midnight. When I go out for a drink or presenting a project on the other hand, I feel like a lady, wearing a suit with red lipstick or one of my red dresses with high-heels. Besides that, I have to stick to the girl-file for a another year or two. So what is the difference between being a girl and being a lady? What is the different combinations that together makes a "young lady"? Is the difference physical or fysical? Is it that red lipstick or that red dress that makes the difference? And can you be a girl while having good manners and elegance? Of course you can! The word lady has its roots in British nobility as the female equivalent of "lord", carries a connotation of elegance and class. However, I believe the word lady has two different definitions; one physical and one fysical. And I also believe being only a lady, throwing away that girly side of you, will make you rather boring. Many of us have been raised up with good manners and we know how to act like a lady. With parents teaching us in the early stages of childhood about how to act "ladylike" and feminene we build up an early picture which separates us girls from the boys and their behaviour. One time at my University however, I decided to hang out with some guy friends, playing pool and drinking beer. This was a joke and so did they think. Playing pool and drinking beer was just not really my thing as I showed up in a pink shirt and hairband, got drunk on two beers and started to laugh at everything. The beers, pool and acting cool like a guy needed to go after only one night! But practising well manners does not mean we can't stick to being girls! We can do the both! I don't believe there is a time limit or rule telling us when it is time to trash that white lace dress, pink nailpolish or red-bowed hair band. The steps we take from being a girl t tinymce/themes/advanced/langs/sv.js" type="text/javascript"> o becoming a woman is a slow and successiv overlap which needs to take time. You don't wake up one morning knowing it is time to change that flowery bag to the black portfolio.. When it comes around I guess I can relate to Britney Spears song. I believe in the importance of keeping a girly side of you while maintaining the good manners of a lady.


Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0