One city, so many cities

 

I once heard someone say that before you die you need to have seen the New York skyline. I believe that is true. I will never forget my very first train rides into New York City. As a nineteen-year-old girl with headphones in my ears, playing the four seasons December 1963, I sat glued to the window, fascinated of what was in front of me.While sitting there I started thinking of how that one city, only twenty minutes away by train, could contain so much: so many different people, dreams, success, careers, talents, shows, restaurants etc. And even though I barely could keep my eyes open when that same train took me back to Connecticut in the early mornings after a night out in the city, I could not keep myself from looking back over my shoulder in order to witness the rippling red-orange sun just raising with the city beneath it, before sleeping the 50 minutes back to the train station. With this being said, it can’t be argued anything but: New York is amazing and so are other big cities such as London and Barcelona for example. As much as I love to travel, one can spend a whole day in New York or London without doing so and still travel the world. There is China town for example, Little Italy, Paris just by Central Park, The French restaurants downtown, and the Japanese restaurants on Bleecker and Meetpackingdistrict. Whilst walking down a street in Notthing Hill, these thoughts hit me again: how one city can take you to so many cities. That is what I love about travelling; one city always brings you something new and that is why I can’t wait to pack my suitcase and keep my passport safely stored in my back pocket ready to enter the world for new adventures.

 

 


Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0