My what to do list

When I was in high school I wrote a list of things I wanted to achieve in life. I call this my "what to do list". I can remember some of the bullet-points and I also remember that I extended the list with time. Some of the things on the list was: dancing on Broadway, become a journalist, write my own book and then I know I also put down: to be able to play the guitar. Thinking back at the time when I was sitting there writing my list, I was actually pretty sure that I was going to be dancing on a Broadway stage one day. I remember I pictured myself walking in backstage, on the downtown streets of New York wearing my back-pack and trainers ready for practice. I also remember I pictured myself walking in on ELLE with a smile on my face, asking for a position. I had no worries that I had not yet attended a University course. No, no.. I actually thought I could be able to get a job! But do you know what, even though some people called me naive or hmm what's the word...gullible, I believe these dreams of mine and my beliefs in myself actually lead me to where I am today because without them I would probably not even leave Sweden to start with. Today, when you ask me, "so did you dance on a Broadway stage?" or "where can I find that book of yours?" I might have to disappoint you by saying that I have not yet got my book published and I did not make it to one of the musical auditions in New York. However, I watched the lights of the downtown streets in New York, felt the hot air of that summer night in the city and got the shivers when watching that Broadway show. Also, I took writing classes in the city together with professional journalists. Today, I bring my guitar with me wherever I travel and trust me when I say that I will never give up my dream of becoming a writer. I mean, who are we without dreams and goals? And remember, if you reach for the stars you might catch the moon.

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0