Is Public Relations an art or a science?

Public Relations. Glamour, fancy events with celebrities, cosmopolitans, big presentations and a career in which you will find yourself grabbing a taxi on the Upper East side of Manhattan with a starbucks coffee in your hand, wearing the latest Christian Dior coat. From my own experience, this is how many people picture Public Relations - am image of the American dream with a six figure salary. I don't blame anyone. From wathcing the PR-agent, Samantha, in Sex and the City, this is the image you will create. "I want that career life!" you might say. After living in New York, a city saturated with club promoters, I strongly dislike business based on shallowness, the fixation with money and a good look. Therefore I did not want to believe everything I heard and started to think a lot about the area. I wanted to find out about the real meaning of the course I am attending. After a lot of lectures and seminars, I am relieved. I believe Public Relations is more than the world around celebrities and the fancy lifestyle. After all the practice of using communication to influence the public is hundreds of years old, with it's roots in acient civilization.



Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0