Finding yourself by twenty or bust?


image22



What do I want to be when I grow up, is a question we started asking ourselves when we were 5 years old. When we were 5 years old we had all the time in the world to figure it out and our dreams seemed to be out of reach. If we wanted to be a big star, we could do it! If we dreamt of becoming a famous soccerplayer it didnt seem impossible. But when we hit a certain age we understood that it wasnt quite as easy. We understood that we had to stop dreaming and start working for it. The question suddenly became important and actually quite urgent. 

One day, me and my friend were talking outside a studio when the following subject got brought up - finding yourself. Okay, I am twenty, I know what I want to do in life, I know myself, who I am and my beliefs but I am far away from knowing the rest. Sitting there talking to my quite new friend, I couldnt help of thinking; what about the person who hasnt found himself? What about the person without dreams of becoming or the one who dont know his talent? Some people are good in school; math, reading, science etc comes easy to them, while some people have a talent in sports, singing or acting. There are people who uses their nice body and their great look to get ahead. But what if you have neither. Are you really bust by your early twenties if you dont know yourself or your talent yet? And can you find out? Do you have time? Or is it too late? I want to say; of course you have time, you have all the time in the world finding what you want to do in life. That is what I believe and I think that life is all about that - finding yourself. But today I am not sure. Do you really have all the time in the world? I mean, in a red cabin way up in Sweden you have or by that beautiful and peaceful lake in Italy but not here, not in the real, stressed and career obsessed world. Not in the world where you get thrown out of highschool right away into college with the decision of chosing your major when you are 18. How can you possible have all the time in the world finding yourself when the future is knocking on the door this early. For me, who always had the dream of becoming a writer and a journalist, I can admit that I would have no problems getting into college a little bit early. But for the one who is standing there like a big questionmark, asking himself; who am I, what do I want from life and whats my dream? I dont know if the right anwer is pushing, moving forward and getting ahead fast. I think the right anwer is time, world experiences and discoveries, peace, family and friends. Sure, some can find themself in the darkest of corners but I think the easiest way of finding yourself is to really find yourself - you, and not the key to the big masters degree or the money . That is why I told my new friend not to rush.

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0